Here we go again

About 18 months ago, I started a new blog, using my shiny new married name, and writing about a variety of things…but I lost motivation and inspiration pretty quickly, and using my name soon became a little uninteresting because, well, its not so shiny and new now, its just who I am.

I love reading other peoples blogs, but they all seem to have a better focus than I do.So here we go, a new blog with a threefold focus, all of which are, I hope, incorporated in the name.

1) Craft-tastic

I used my old blog to, at times, showcase some of my craft efforts. I’m a huge pinterest addict, and have recently learned that there are some crafts I can do. But I increasingly am aware that I am not enough of a perfectionist for most crafts, so anything I make tends to be pretty imperfect. I’m pretty sure if I attempted clay pots, they’d be pretty darn cracked…certainly my blankets unravel after a while, my mod podge peels or goes wrinkly, and I cant sew in a straight line. But I’m learning and trying. Next week I have a sewing lesson with a friend of a friend and I’m hoping I can bash together some cushions, quilts and maybe even some apparel this year. I also had a second blog for recipes, I’m ditching that and will be sticking them on here.

2) Eco-Freaky

This link to the title is a little tenuous, something about global warming and dried out earth… but during 2011 I read a book called Gorgeously Green and have become really passionate about issues relating to the planet. Prior to that I had so little clue about how much the products I buy and use can affect the earth, my health and my pocket. Since then, the lovely husband and I have been exploring and experimenting with a variety of eco friendly products and lifestyle choices. This is something we are trying to continue with, and I will carry on blogging about the things we’ve tried, problems we’ve found, and products we’ve trialled.

3) Me!

2 Corinthians 4 v 7  “If you only look at us, you might well miss the brightness. We carry this precious Message around in the unadorned clay pots of our ordinary lives. That’s to prevent anyone from confusing God’s incomparable power with us.”

I continue to be on a journey of faith, I rarely have anything unique or particularly insightful to say, but I will, from time to time, post about the treasure in this clay pot. I hope that my own imperfections are the cracks that let people see some of the amazing blessings that God has given me, and the ways he is working in me and those around me. Matt and I continue to try to live in community, to share what we have and to build real relationships that challenge and inspire us, and I will sometimes share some of that on my blog.

Leave a Reply

