Lent 2013

I think I’ve mentioned previously, but I feel strongly that this year I need to focus on Discipline and Stability. I’m trying to have some consistency in my life, and I’m trying to push myself into being more disciplined in a number of different areas.

So I gave up chocolate as a New Years resolution this year…wowzers that’s tough!! But that means I cant give it up for lent like I usually do. In addition to this, my lovely sister-in-law (find her here) was also looking for a challenge for Lent, so we have been chatting about what we can do, wanting something that would be a real challenge but not impossible.

In the last couple of weeks I have also had a couple of conversations about beauty, and about self-image, and about the ongoing struggle that so many of my friends have with these ideas. I feel, again, angry that so many beautiful women feel so flummoxed by the pressures to be some impossible version of themselves. I feel angry that advertisers put out crap like this that adds to this problem. And I’m angry because it works and I believe it, and I feel small and crappy about myself so much of the time!

Last week I read Dawn French’s autobiography and in it she talks about how people always told her she had a pretty face, like ‘its ok that you’re fat, at least you dont have a face like a smacked arse too.’ She said that although this was meant in a kindly manner, it was actually fairly insulting. The best thing people could think of to compliment her on was something that was decided by genetics and she actually had minimal control over. Better, in her view, to comment on something that’s a real achievement!! So, for lent, Hannah and I have challenged ourselves to give up Make-Up! Not gonna lie, I feel pretty terrified about it! I dont know much about make-up, and I dont wear loads of it, but a bit of cover up for my spots and dark circles does perk me up in the morning!! And in new or scary situations it is a bit of something to hide behind. So I’m going into it with some trepidation, but I also feel really strongly that there are lessons to be learned about caring more about who I am than what I look like, and in having confidence in my strength and abilities and gifts rather than my face!!

me han

Hannah and me WITH make up. I doubt we’ll be offering a ‘without’ picture!!

 

1 Peter 3 v 3 & 4 says ‘Your beauty should not come from outward adornment, such as elaborate hairstyles and the wearing of gold jewelry or fine clothes. Rather, it should be that of your inner self, the unfading beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which is of great worth in God’s sight.” That’s good enough for me.

In line with this, I am also planning to give up TV. I think it will do me good to have a bit of a break from the media and advertising for a few weeks (to survive the make-up challenge), and will hopefully give me more time for the things I actively want to spend time doing- Reading, blogging, crafts, being with friends, being in touch with friends, getting out into the country.

So that’s me! What are you giving up for lent? Or do you want to join Hannah and I on our journey?

One thought on “Lent 2013

Leave a Reply

