A quick reminder…

Today I need reminding of why I am doing this no make-up thing. Yesterday an oncology nurse told me I looked ill…thats some comment from a woman who sees critically ill children daily. That knocked my spirits.

But 1 Peter 3 v 3&4 says “Your beauty should not come from outward adornment, such as elaborate hairstyles and the wearing of gold jewelry or fine clothes. Rather, it should be that of your inner self, the unfading beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which is of great worth in God’s sight.”

I’ve quoted it before but I needed reminding.

I am currently reading A Year of Biblical Womanhood which is such a huge challenge, and the first chapter is about having a ‘quiet and gentle spirit.’ I am challenged about this, as being quiet and gentle are probably the words LEAST likely to be used to describe me. And the more I read and the more I learn, the more I see that this isnt about being a walkover. Its about only saying what needs saying (no gossip, no sarcastic quips, no bitchy comments) and about learning gentleness of spirit. I am so challenged by this, but also so aware that it can only be achieved by a work of serious grace in my life.

a-year-of-biblical-womanhood

One thought on “A quick reminder…

  1. I am so proud of you for even having a go! God Bless you Becky I am still struggling with the same issues but the willingness to be trying is what God sees in our hearts

Leave a Reply

