Reasons to Smile 16/05

Lighterhearted than last weeks efforts, here are my top 5 for this week.

1) Its Eurovision Week

I just think Eurovision is the randomest, most hilarious thing ever. In what is now a tradition, we will be having a party, complete with costumes and European flag bunting, and I am excited!! Last years party resulted in some of these incredible costumes, and me wearing a turkey on my head, so I’m sure we are in for an excellent night

euro2012 turkey

 

2) The Office US.

Now, I know what I’m about to say is tantamount to blasphemy in many peoples book, but I am not a massive Ricky Gervais fan, and I didn’t love the Office. However, we started watching the US office on honeymoon and I just think it is one of the best TV shows ever!! I have never watched a show so capable of having me in both fits of laughter and genuine crying in the space of one episode. It’s a brilliant mix of characters, well written and so easy to watch. The last episode EVER airs in the US tonight (If Steve Carell doesnt show up for the final episode, that alone may make me cry) and I am excited…and a little sad. I challenge you to watch it and decide which of the below is the worlds greatest love story!! (also, the fact that Jim is almost identical to my brother cracks me up)

Jim Pam Dwight-dwight-schrute-14784674-384-288

3) This Video

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6ulTxAu0XlA

Best thing I’ve seen all week.

4) Those friends

You know the ones who challenge you, inspire you, get you? I have one particular friend, and not many people know how close we are, but she’s the person I am currently sharing my journey with. We have bi-weekly phone calls, and we have permission to give each other a real hard time about stuff, but mostly we dont. Mostly we empathise, share ideas, laugh at our similarities, laugh at our difference, share our faith journey, share our work stories, and remind each other about good things, and reasons to be positive. I need that inspiration. I am so blessed to have many wonderful people in my life, and I thank God daily for the different people in my life who are genuinely good for me. I have more than I deserve in that category.

5) Market Research

When I started uni, I signed up to every market research/clinical trial/mystery shopping shebang out there. Only one has stuck, so every week when I do our big shop, I have a little zapper to scan the barcodes of the stuff I buy. It barely takes any longer than regular unpacking would AND this week I claimed my rewards. £60 in Dorothy Perkins Vouchers.  That is a treat and a half!!

Leave a Reply

