The pain of quilting

One of my new years resolutions this year was to learn to sew, like properly. So I attacked a hand embroidery picture as a gift for someone, and for my birthday I got a sewing machine.

CIMG1588

I had a sewing lesson from a friend of a friend and produced a pretty excellent cushion cover

photo1

and I made a couple of rag quilts which i’ve blogged/pinned/facebooked.

edge CIMG1623

But the main reason I wanted to learn to sew is because for YEARS I have wanted to make a quilt, like a proper one. I think they’re amazing, and I want to make them for everyone.

But…this week I made my first one.

And frankly I may never sew again.

Seriously, it was one of the worst experiences of my life. I cried, a lot!

But it was for someone I loved, so I have persevered and finished it.

It’s SO badly made, but my first one is out of the way, and I have learned many a lesson…

1. Making all your squares the same size actually matters. When you come to put them together, it matters.

2. If you leave the binding to the day before you have to give it to someone, it will be the worst day ever

3. If your mother in law teaches you a way to bind a quilt, and you choose to ignore her because you don’t want to do any hand sewing, then you have only yourself to blame.

4. If you are not a perfectionist every step of the way, the end product will be far from perfect.

5. If you love someone, it’s worth tears and horrible days if they love a gift you make them! And I think she liked it

finishedIMG_9750

Leave a Reply

