Reasons to Smile 16/06

Wow, I haven’t done one of these in way too long. Here are my top 5

1. Being a couch to 5k success story

That’s me. Finally running. I started at Christmas using the Couch to 5k app, and I’m doing it. I’ve hit some pretty big bumps along the way (can I get a ‘forefoot supernatus?!’…no? ok) and it’s not been easy, but today I ran 4.25 miles which is well on the way to my 10k (July) and half marathon (September).  I’m slow and I’m not graceful, but I’m out doing it, and todays run burned 500 calories so…

It’s also lovely to be doing something that Matt loves, together. He got the running bug last year and is now a marathoner (one done, one signed up for) so it is lovely to be involved in something he is so passionate about. He makes a great running buddy/pacer/coach and its nice to be doing something together.

Last weekend we went to Center Parcs and I discovered that now that I can run a bit, I can keep up with other stuff too. I played badminton and squash and enjoyed myself. My lack of Hand-Eye coordination means I’m never going to be any serious competition to Matt or my brother (my co-competitors last weekend) but I could run around a bit and certainly join in. So I’m enjoying being fitter

IMG_3527

2. Love love love love, crazy love

About 20 years ago now, a family came to be the ministers at my Grandma’s church, and as we happened to be visiting relatively regularly, my folks became their friends. And as happens when you’re 7, my brother and I ended up playing with their kids, Carla and Chris. Shortly after, these ministers got appointed to work in Brazil…yep, Brazil. So we were continents apart and…lets face it…7, so contact between us kiddliwinks was lost. Then their next role was in the good ol’ USA…still far away but by now we were teenagers and one year we went to visit them on holiday and we were all starting to not want to spend all of our time with our parents so we hung out. Then a few years later, Facebook! So us kiddo’s have kept in touch, and met up a few times, and suddenly 20 years have passed and all of us have lived in multiple cities/countries/continents but somehow have been each others constants in some ways by being consistently around and constantly in touch.  They’re kinda like family. So a natural progression was that Carla was one of my bridesmaids 2 years ago, and last year I went to America to be her Maid of Hono(u)r (See pic). Whilst I was there I got to meet Chris’ new lady friend and today I had an email to say they’re engaged!!

It is just wonderful when people have been in your lives for so many years and you watch their lives unfolding, albeit from a distance. Chris has grown into such a talented man of integrity and passion, and it is a privilege to know him. It is so great that he has met someone who is so beautiful, inside and out. Second to falling in love myself, I don’t think there is a greater joy than watching the people I love find happiness and start to build futures. Having met Meagan, and read her blog, I KNOW that Chris is getting a woman who will love, pursue, challenge and support him for years to come, and that is a great thing for a big sisterish to know!

carla wedding

3. Holidays

You may have gathered from some previous blogs that my job has its rough days, so it was wonderful last weekend to get away. We hit up Center Parcs and had a whale of a time. We did lots of the activities, but also did lots of relaxing and reading. Sunday morning we had our own little service and spend some precious times praying for one another and sharing what God has put on our hearts. I am blessed with beautiful people

IMG_3363Holidays in general are very important to me. I love to travel and see new places, but also, from time to time, I literally need to get away. I gradually get more and more exhausted, almost to the point that its visible, and I just need to be somewhere else for a while. Holidays is our achilles heel in terms of saving because I will always see travel as a worthwhile investment of our money.

4.Funny Events (Laughing at my husband)

I’ve mentioned before that Matt loves to run. He was out running on Friday afternoon as I was driving home from a visit. I was tired and hungry and then he phoned to say he’d lost his keys. They were in the special key pouch in his shorts, and they’d gone. So he retraced his steps, no sign. Went into the shop where he’d stopped to buy a drink. No keys. Went to the police station, no keys handed in so gave them his details. I picked him up and drove him home. I tried SO hard not to be cross, but I was pretty worried about how much a new car key would cost (£240 apparently) and I didnt know if our landlord would want us to change the locks, so I was as kind as I could be. He was so upset. And then he went to have a shower and his keys fell out of his pants. The complete befuddlement on his face made the whole sorry experience worth it.  We are both still baffled as to how he ran 5 miles looking for the keys without feeling them!! Hilarious. And every time he has said anything to me, all weekend, I’ve retorted with something about keys and pants and found myself highly amusing.

5. Home made pizza

This recipe. Amazing. Get involved

Leave a Reply

