4 Simple Goals…before 2014

I love reading blogs a whole lot more than I love blogging. And one of my favourites is A Beautiful Mess. Founders of the app, and creators of so many beautiful things, these girls are a real inspiration and I love popping onto their blog almost every day for a gander. They blog REALLY regularly which I love, because it makes it worth looking at their blog regularly, so it becomes an inspiring little habit.

Anyway, this week they posted 4 simple goals to be achieved before the end of the year, you can see them here and I think that’s a beautiful idea. This time of year is so wonderful in so many ways, the world looks beautiful, the seasonal food is AWESOME and priorities shift from being out and about, to cosy intimate dinners/coffees/movie nights with the people you love most. But it can also be a time of massive amounts of stress, worrying about gift buying and too many commitments, and how to keep families happy, and I dont love that! So check A beautiful mess for the rules, and get involved yourself in making some simple goals for the last chunk of this year.

 

Here are mine

 

1. Commit time and energy into my marriage. I love being married, but 2013 has been a tough year, and part of the reason for that is that we have been SO busy with everyone else, we haven’t made enough time for each other. I am committed to weekly date nights, and time together at weekends because I really do love that boy an awful lot.

2. Cultivate Thankfulness. The last few years I’ve hosted a Thanksgiving party. Cultural relevance in the UK? Zero, of course, but I love the idea of a holiday that is just about being thankful (and eating candied yams…yum!!) and I love the opportunity to share that with friends. I will be doing that again this November, but also want to be better, every day, at recognising the things I have to be thankful for. I have a whole heap!

 

(Last years Thanksgiving effort. thanksgiving

A weird British American combo meal. It was awesome!!)

 

 

3. Make time for the things you can only do in winter. I want to go ice skating, and drink peppermint hot chocolate, and go to a carol service in a cathedral, and make pumpkin pie, and send Christmas cards (I NEVER do that) and I know I can only do those things in the next 2 months.

4. Find creative ways to show my family and friends that I love them. Right, dont hate me, but I’ve finished my Christmas shopping. Now that may sound amazing, but it’s actually a sickness I have that causes me to panic about Christmas as soon as September starts! So I’ve bought something for everyone, BUT I want to do creative, and inexpensive, and personal things for all of them to show them I love them in addition to the gifts I’ve bought. Not necessarily for Christmas, but during that period. I have the added blessing of getting to see my brother and sister-in-law and super gorgeous niece and nephew this Christmas, as well as one of my very best friends, all of whom live in the USA and none of whom I normally see at Christmas, so I want to make this one special.

 

What are your goals?

Leave a Reply

